First Impressions Are(n’t) Lasting Impressions

When I first described Japan, my account was about my disappointment in shrines. It was based on stereotypes that were in desperate need of being proven incorrect. Before, I walked the streets of a strange place. What has changed is not how the area looks, but how I look at the area. This strange place steadily became home to me as I biked its streets every day and Japan turned into something beautiful.

In the last post, I talked about Sadako Sasaki. Last weekend I was able to visit Hiroshima.

After being questioned by a Jehova’s witnesses, my friends and I were able to make it to the Peace Museum where we saw WWII from Japan’s point-of-view. Since we are all American, it was interesting to see how Japan saw the bombing of Hiroshima. Most of the time, the question that stood was: “Why Japan?” And by the end, I started to try to think of why such a place would be the target of such destruction. Even though the A-bomb grounded Hiroshima, Japan has prospered and there has been an upsurge of technology, culture, and life since then.

I have learned so many things about Japan and I no longer question Japan’s television, fashion, or way of making everything look super cute.

At first glance, Japan was a bit disappointing; filled with wires and views marred by antennas. Four months later, I have realized that the Japan that I had wanted of friendly people and beautiful landscapes was not as far away from me as I thought. Although antennas and rusty buildings sprout from the ground at steady intervals, I am able to look past that and finally see what Japan really is through experiencing the culture first hand.

December 14, 2009. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. visual gonthros replied:

    Yes, there is so much to see, or not see, in Japan. You have had an especially challenging time with this assignment with WordPress and quarantines but still managed to fulfill your assignment. Congratulations. And curses upon you because every time I want to apologize in Japanese I end up saying “Gomenasorry…” Just kidding, no curses. But your title is an interesting example of a foreigner contributing to Engrish. Or is it Japenglish?

  2. dlag1689 replied:

    “When in Japan…” is the phrase engraved in my mind as a response to people saying “You were in QUARANTINE?”

    As for continuing the spread of butchering the Japanese language, all I have to say is: “Gomenasorry; don’t worry, everything will be daijobes.”

    Thank you for all of your comments. I enjoyed keeping up this blog, even with all the difficulties that came with it! Good luck with next semester’s blogs!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

