Humaquarium

Over the three-day weekend, I was hoping to witness some sort of live sport action during the day adventures on which I went. Unfortunately, the closest thing to watching baseball that I witnessed was watching a middle-school-aged baseball team wearing their uniforms biking past me. Therefore, with sports out of the question, I am left to write about recreation and what better place to observe people and pass the time than in an aquarium.

Kaiyukan

Osaka Aquarium, better known to the Japanese as Kaiyukan, houses many creatures from ducks to dolphins. The entire aquarium is built around a central tank that has the famous whale shark amongst other sea creatures that until I saw them believed only to be figments of Hayao Miyazaki’s imagination (fish really are massive!) So as I walked down spiraling ramp and realized that are two floors of seeing the same fish, I’ve pretty much seen them all, I started looking around me. I was surprised to see so many Nihonjin (Japanese people) and very few to no Gaijin (foreigners) enjoying this tourist attraction.

Amongst the Nihonjin I saw many a H1N1 mask. I watched as people tried to push their way to the viewing glass, yet the mask-wearers stood patiently towards the back.

Masks

This situation was interesting to observe because of two reasons. Firstly, It made me wonder how many people actually had the virus and how many were just protecting themselves from it. There really was no way to differentiate between the two types of mask wearers and both were treated as if they were not there at all. It reminded me of how mask wearers on trains usually have an empty seat beside them. A thought popped into my head once that the people who are not sick should write “NOPE” or “NOT I” on their masks, but then I figured it would further make actual ill people more of social pariahs. Secondly, maybe the reason why the non-mask wearers pushes past and mask-wearer stays put is because that’s just how these certain people function. Maybe these specific mask-wearers are mild people who do not want to shove past in order to see, while the non-mask wearers are just the opposite type. I would have to view many more encounters between mask and non-mask wearers in order to fully grasp the social interaction between the two.

In any case, I realized that I was viewing the human species rather than the aquatic; therefore, returned to view the animals behind the glass as much as they viewed us.

Penguins

*Due to the fact that WordPress.com suspended my previous blog for spamming, I have taken all links out of this post. If you would like a link to the Kaiyukan website, please leave me a comment. Thank you.

October 26, 2009. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. visual gonthros replied:

    Glad to see that you were able to get your new blog going. What a crazy situation. Maybe WordPress thought your blog had a virus…

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

