Pack it in, pack it up | 7:11 p.m.





Sooooo… My last day in Madrid…. CRAZY CRAZY! This semester went by at a good speed, but feels like it went by in a flash! (As do all eras in our lifetime for which we anticipate the end at the very beginning.) It seems like just yesterday I was spending my Friday afternoons at Japanese class, or dull SGAM meetings. I feel like I was just struggling through midterms, having Cathie couch surf, hugging everyone at the end of the play…. It’s been so long since “Star Quality” and beginner courses… and it just scares me to think that next year these things will seem so close, but so much farther. 2 years ago I was just graduating from high school, I was waiting to figure out my life. Now, I am still waiting for KGU to accept me. I thought I had a bit of my life in order, but I really don’t… which is okay, I suppose there’s enough time for everything in the end. 

Packing up, I realized that I don’t know how to pack two years of paraphernalia into 3 suitcases or less. If only I could bring everything, I would, but even if I could it would be impossible. I’m such a pack rat… I guess it’s because my sentimentality gets the best of me and I hate to let things go sometimes… okay a lot of the time. Like, when am I ever going to read essays that I wrote freshman year? Probably never, but then I think about how I’ll be 20 years from now, going through all my random boxes… and I imagine myself going through and finding what I’ve saved, and it makes me feel nostalgic even though I’m not there yet.
Well, I still have packing today, then tomorrow I’m on an airplane to my real home. I am so ready to come home, it’s ridiculous. And in spirit of this flood of emotions (aka wanting to come home super badly), I wrote this poem:

[English Major Trapped in a Business Major’s Body]

Plateau

I am so ready, oh man,

To ditch this popsicle stand.

Life gave me lemons I can only squeeze by hand

For four years, my fate is in your command.

For now, I may not understand

Supply and demand,

But I know how to feel

I know the value of a home cooked meal

The CPI, Crazy Possibilities Index

Like, if you have a burn, just spray it with Windex

The dead weight you feel from a loss

Or the shift to the left and right when you’re with your boss.

I know these economical terms creep into our lives,

Like the short term effects if you have two wives,

Or how about the long term, age changes you there

Where up goes your age, but down goes your hair.

Like if you want to get an A, then no Facebook for the day,

That’s the opportunity cost that you have to pay.

And it doesn’t feel good to analyze this way

Which is why I know that I can say,

I am so ready, oh man,

I am running from this school made lemonade stand,

Now I understand.

I’ve had enough of supply and demand,

And I am ready squish my toes in the sand,

Ready swim out to where I can’t stand,

Ready to hold summer by the hand.

I am so ready, oh man.

 

Date: 27-28 April 2009

Emily, if you’re reading this, I’ll see you on the other side. :] 
May 13, 2009. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Emily replied:

    that poem was so cool. i really liked it and now you're home but im still a state away 😦

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

